Skip to content

Frames!

March 2, 2009
tags:

I am trying to put together a list of Mechaton frames. I have no idea as to how it will be arranged, but I want to include the name of the frame, and the name of the frames creator. So far I have:

1. What I have come to call “The Classic.” My guess is that it is Vincents design, but I have found no confirming documentation to that end.

2. The “5th Gen,” or “5gen,” possibly by Emily? Vincent? Again no hard and fast documentation.

3. The “Walker” again my guess is that it is Vincents, and again I have no documentation.

4. What I am calling the “Scorpion Walker, of the Third Great Roman Empire” by D. Vincent Baker.

5. The “AIn-11” by Joshua A.C. Newman

6. The MgN-302 and 303 frames by Malcolm Craig

7. The “Big Foot” by D. Vincent Baker

8. The “Unknown Mech at the beginning of an “anyway thread” by D. Vincent Baker.

9. The “Takafashii” by Squieu.

10. The “Advanced Frame” by Zizy2.

What criterion am I using for adding or not adding a mech to this list? Well so far a mech can be added to the list if it fits into one of the following categories:
It is included in any official Mechaton document,
It was posted about by the games creator,
It is a confirmed creation of the games author.
It is a frame that is or has been copied and used by people other than the original builder of the frame.

I feel this is important. This is our Mechaton heritage and it needs to be documented.

Long live the stompy goodness!
Darrin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mechatonic permalink
    March 2, 2009 9:55 pm

    Depending on the scale you want to play, some frames can turn out pretty big. The Takafashii is really cool, but once you add on some detail, weapons and so forth, it ends up being way huge (my Crater Corporation Mech ended up being about twice the size if an MgN-302. Although, it was that mech that actually inspired me to build the 302 in the first place.

    The AIn-11 is one of my favourite frames for Mechaton. It’s a lovely little design that is really adaptable.

    Cheers
    Malcolm

  2. March 3, 2009 3:51 pm

    The first three – the classic, the 5gen, and the walker, are all my designs. The scorpion walker isn’t mine, though – it might be by my brother Glen Baker, but I’m not positive.

    #8 doesn’t have a name.

    There’s also the CUKR or “chucker,” including tank chuckers and space chuckers:

    They’re not quite classics, though close.

    • March 3, 2009 9:15 pm

      Thank you Vincent. I will edit the post with those revisions. I always considered the “Chucker” and “Space Chucker” to be cosmetic mods of the “Clasic” frame. That is why I did not include them individualy. Would you like for me to list them individualy, or do you feel they are covered under the “Clasic” listing?

      Now that I think about it I feel they should be mentioned, but as a variant of the clasic. Like the 303 is listed under the MgN-302.

      Thanks again.

      Darrin – who is sitting in a hotel room in Dallas TX.

  3. March 3, 2009 9:11 pm

    Oops! The images didn’t show. Here are links to chuckers:
    Chucker
    Tank chucker
    Space chucker

    • Mantisking permalink
      March 3, 2009 9:25 pm

      I thought the Chuckers were 1st Gen Ptimanyas?

Leave a Reply

