Skip to content

Break it down, part three.

November 16, 2011

I mentioned in my last post that before the current project Soren had a few mech frames in common use.  One of them, the Guncrab is a multi-ped, or multiple legged mech frame.

Soren's Guncrab

Multi-peds are a minority in Mechaton as well as the mecha genre as a whole, but they are definitely mainstays of both, and have been from the beginning.

Soren wisely understood that of the five frames he was making for the new rule book, at least one had to be a multi-ped, and from that understanding arose the Scrambler.

Here is the breakdown shot Soren sent me.

You can see from the first two shots that a variety of armament will be as simple as changing the central head.  This frame is a great way to fill out a combined arms unit.

That is beyond stompy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Soren permalink
    November 16, 2011 4:55 am

    That was actually not my decision (or, not solely) – we talked about design spec, and Joshua suggested three different body shapes to differentiate factions. We talked it over more, and I figured out how to make it work – which was the big question.

    Not that I didn’t more or less have free reign beyond that, though. And I’m hoping for weirder yet!

  2. Shaun permalink
    November 16, 2011 10:45 pm

    A lot of special parts in this one that require some hunting down at Bricklink. The availability also puts a limit on the color palette for the mechs. Looks like I will be going adding white to my parts selection (and four Bricklink orders sent!)

    • Soren permalink
      November 16, 2011 11:53 pm

      I tried to stay away from special parts as much as possible, but the tooth plate, octagonal bar plate, and 3×3 dish all come in either a decent variety of colors, or at least black. And you can get away with buying just the bar plate – the teeth and dish just act to stabilize the legs for easy play.

      Also: http://shop.lego.com/en-US/Spiders-Set-40021 these are on sale right now – $2.50 for a giant pack of clip- and bar-plates sounds pretty awesome to me.

      • Shaun permalink
        November 17, 2011 12:39 pm

        You are correct. I am in Australia so parts variety is a bit more limited unless I want to pay high postage from overseas. However I did find enough of what I wanted across a range of stores. (It never hurts to add more Lego!)

        Thank you for the link as well. That is an excellent offer.

      • November 18, 2011 2:23 am

        Yeah, I grabbed a bunch of those, myself!

Leave a Reply

