Skip to content

Crimson Commandos, part one.

April 7, 2012

I am currently working on three different forces for Mobile Frame Zero.  Two of them are for the Solar Century setting in the new book, and are therefore in seven plate scale.  The third is for a setting I have begun working on that has a more Mechwarrior feel to it, and is in five plate scale.

The Diocese of the Corward March is a group of star systems governed by The Catholic Church.  The military of the DCM is referred to as the Crimson Crusaders, and their equipment is all red in color.  The Crimson Commandos are a branch of the Crusaders that are tasked with defending closely aligned non-member worlds.  Their services are also “for hire” to nearby non-aligned worlds or corporations.

When I came up with the catholic/red idea, I thought about giving all the pilots Hispanic sounding names and calling the unit “The Spanish Inquisition,” but I didn’t think anybody would expect that, (or understand it.)

I have in the past built many “omni-mech” style frames.

I wanted a different feel for this unit.  I have always loved the look of the Dugram mechs.  I love the idea of a humanoid walking tank that has a combat helicopter style canopied cockpit.  Here are a few Dugram mechs for reference.

Layzner also had this feel to it.

I wanted this force to be partially representative of the main portion of the “Crusaders,” but also a little ad-hock as it includes some rather eccentric pilots who are none the less catered to by the chain of command because they get the job done.  I decided that a core of the force would pilot mechs built in and by the DCM, but most would come from outside its borders.

That being said, I will start with a few frames that everyone is familiar with, and later use them to give scale to the frames that are not so familiar.

First up is my MgN-EX.

Next is my five plate scale version of a chub.

Finally a crowd favorite, the mini-frame.

Not a bad start.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2012 12:45 am

    I like what you’ve done with these guys! You’ve managed to maintain what makes each of these frames unique while shrinking them down a tad.

  2. Trilobite permalink
    April 7, 2012 6:28 am

    I really, really like the five-plate Chub there, especially with those colors. The choice of cockpit-like dome is a very nice touch as well.

  3. April 7, 2012 10:58 pm

    I love the Masamune Shirow style of the MgN-EX. 😀

  4. January 13, 2017 10:38 am

    I really like his work, and I really enjoy the anime THE FANG OF SUN DOUGRAM, although he has never gone on an open network here in Latin America, but another artistic work that is also very cool in concept and look is the style of Norio Shioyama In ARMORED TROOPENS VOTOMS in which the méchs are not so futuristic nor obisoletos, much of the MBT (Main Battle Tanks).

Leave a Reply

