Skip to content

The List!

June 16, 2012

When I started this blog, one of the things that people said kept them from getting into the game, was their own inability to come up with cool looking Lego mechs.  I then created this list as a service to the community.  I did not intend to offend anyone by creating and maintaining this list.

Last month I found two comments posted to my blog, one to the first post announcing the list, and the second to the list itself.  Both were from the same person who was offended that none of his work had yet made it onto my blog, and more importantly onto the “List.”

I have my blog set so that all comments must be approved by myself or they remain invisible.  I felt I did not need that kind of drama on my blog, so I left the comments “unapproved,” but the fact that they had been posted at all has tickled at the back of my consciousness for over a month now, and I feel the need to say something.

I created this blog as a resource and aid to making cool looking mechs for Mechaton and Mobile Frame Zero, so I can understand that many of my visitors are just here to look at the pretty pictures, and not to read the pathetic drivel that I eek out on my keyboard.  The problem starts when someone gets offended by what I am doing because they did NOT read the pathetic drivel posted at the end of the list.

I came up with a set of rules to guide me in the creation of, and maintenance of the list.  I did not want to fall into the trap of adding every cool frame I found on the net.  Nor did I want to fall into the trap of adding all of my own creations to the list, in a grand “tooting my own horn” party.

The rules basically divide the frames on the list into two categories, and I will call them “Canon,” and “Community.”

The Canon mechs are on the list by having been in some way connected to one of the games creator/publishers, or having been in an official game related document.

The Community mechs are those that have been adopted by a portion of the MFZ community other than the person who created them.

In the past I often posted about cool stuff I found on the net, and then went on to copy it for my own use.  I would then think “wow this is really cool, I should add it to the list.”  I decided to add to the set of rules one that has just been in my head, and that is that “I” am not the community, just a part of it, and in order to add a frame to the list someone other than myself had to copy it and post it online.

So what I am trying to say with all of this is that the list is not for the most amazing or prettiest MFZ mechs in history, but for the “official” mechs and the frames that have been adopted by the community.

The Flickr MFZ group has seen an incredible amount of activity over the last several months, so much that I have decided I can’t post about everything that I think is cool.  I do however post comments on Flikr about some of them.

With all of this having been said, I realize that I have been lax in maintaining the list, and two jump readily to mind, although there may be more.  If you find any frame that fits the rules, that I have not added, please let me know, there is so much activity on the Flikr group I am sure I have missed something.

The first Frame being added is the GAU-29 ‘Battle Toad’ Assault Frame, by Karoline Dianne.

It was copied by Grass4hopper who made an aquatic version.

I then jumped on the band wagon and posted the copy I had made weeks earlier.

The second frame I am adding to the list today is the Hobbes by thomastamblyn.

Von Rublenstein Reserch has created several versions.

myersac14 created a very faithfull version in dark red.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 2:32 pm

    {* COUGH *} 😀

    Heh. In all seriousness, I’m intrigued by whom may have left the comments.

  2. June 17, 2012 2:56 pm

    No, I was’t talking about you Rayray. This time! 🙂

  3. June 17, 2012 3:39 pm

    Oh god, it’s junior high all over again. Honestly though, I’d love to make “the List” at some point.

  4. Grass4hopper permalink
    June 19, 2012 12:06 pm

    I want to let you know that I love the list, and still consult it when I forget a detail about the Chub or Scrambler construction. Also I completely understand what you’re saying about the list. My Flickr Favorites has exploded the last few months because of how many cool designs are posted. I’m actually trying to really cut down on how much I favorite, just so I can find what I’m looking for when I look for a design in there.

  5. June 20, 2012 8:02 pm

    What? None of mine are on the list!? :p Joking of course.

    I was going to do something similar to your list but then realized the incredible undertaking of putting together and maintaining such a list with the sheer amount of frames being created on a day to day basis. I then decided that I wasn’t going to do it :).

    Keep up the good work Zeek!

  6. Tetrajak permalink
    June 21, 2012 7:57 pm

    Just read the article, and realise that the rules of The List mean I can recommend one of my own frames 😄

    So, without further ado;
    This is the original; http://www.flickr.com/photos/tetrajak/7240502652/in/photostream

    Copied at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/peculiar23/7410066670/in/pool-438009@N25

  7. Thomas Tamblyn permalink
    June 23, 2012 5:09 pm

    I’m honoured!

  8. November 6, 2012 11:48 pm

    Wow, I never expected to be highlighted like this! I know I’m rather late in realizing it, but still… Holy crap.

    Thanks guys! You’re the best! 😀

Leave a Reply

